News

Saturday, May 21, 2022

The Brazil LAB has just published on its Nexo Public Policies platform the article "Racismo sistêmico e o impacto das políticas de ação afirmativa no Brasil", a translation of the paper presented on the online event "Systemic Racism and the Social Impact of Affirmative Policies in Brazil" (available...

Wednesday, May 11, 2022

On Tuesday, May 10, 2022, the Brazil LAB and the Graduate Program in Social Anthropology at the Museu Nacional (PPGAS/MN/UFRJ) held the workshop Archives, Archival Practices and their Ethnographic Effects.

Monday, May 9, 2022

On May 5-6, 2022, the Brazil LAB hosted the conference Amazonian Leapfrogging: Tackling the Climate Crisis and Social Inequality with Nature-Based Solutions, which brought to campus programs and scholars who care deeply about safeguarding Amazonia.

Sunday, May 8, 2022

On Wednesday, May 4, 2022, the Brazil LAB and the High Meadows Environmental Institute hosted a meeting of Txai Suruí with Ella Weber ('25), Jessica Lambert ('22), Gustavo Blanco-Quiroga ('25), and Travis Chai Andrade ('24), Indigenous students from the "Natives in Princeton" student...

Saturday, Apr 23, 2022

The Brazil LAB has just published on its Nexo Public Policies platform the article "Estudo revela como corpos d'água no interior e na costa influenciam o clima", a translation of the original article published by the...

Sunday, Apr 17, 2022

The Brazil LAB has just published on its Nexo Public Policies platform the article "Terras de fartura, terras de ambição: políticas e éticas nas lutas no campo" by Museu Nacional's affiliated researchers John Comerford, Dibe...

Friday, Apr 15, 2022

On Wednesday, April 14, 2022, the Brazil LAB hosted the event “Brazil’s Future in the 2022 Ballot Box: Digital Violence, Electoral Politicking, and a Bias for Hope,” with Patrícia Campos Mello (Columbia University and Folha de S.Paulo) and...

Friday, Apr 8, 2022

The Brazil LAB has just published on its Nexo Public Policies platform the article "Reparação histórica de Lamarck: um novo olhar para a evolução" by Princeton Psychology & Neuroscience graduate student Thiago Tariff Varella. In this article, Varella revisits the controversies...

Tuesday, Apr 5, 2022
by Maria Luísa Lucas and Guilherme Fagundes

On Friday, March 25, 2022, the Brazil LAB opened its latest digital initiative, New Environmental Engagements, with a colloquium on Indigenous and Maroon Communities in the Environmental Fight: Post-Glasgow Challenges.

Friday, Apr 1, 2022

On Thursday, March 31, 2022, the Brazil LAB and the Program in Latin American Studies at Princeton University hosted the 2022 Stanley Stein Lecture, featuring historian Ana Lucia Araújo (Howard University/Institute for Advanced Study) with a presentation titled Naming the Nameless: Slavery, Memory, and...

Pages