News

Monday, Apr 19, 2021

On March 31, 2021, the Brazil LAB and the Department of Spanish and Portuguese hosted the fourth in a series of talks known as “Pílulas Literárias”, in connection with Lilia Moritz Schwarcz and Pedro Meira Monteiro’s seminar “The Canon Re-Signified” (POR 415/LAS 425).

Monday, Apr 12, 2021
by Daniel Persia

On Thursday, April 1, the Brazil LAB hosted the 2021 Stanley Stein Lecture “Atlantic Entanglements in the Era of Abolition (Angola and Brazil, 1820s-1860s),” featuring Roquinaldo Ferreira, Henry Charles Lea Professor of History at the University of Pennsylvania.

Friday, Apr 2, 2021

On Thursday, March 25, 2021, the Brazil LAB and the Graduate Program in Social Anthropology of the Museu Nacional (UFRJ, Brazil) held the first joint seminar of the series Encounters.

Sunday, Mar 28, 2021

On March 17, 2021, the Brazil LAB and the Department of Spanish and Portuguese hosted the third in a series of talks known as “Pílulas literárias”, in connection with Lilia M. Schwarcz and Pedro Meira Monteiro’s seminar “The Canon Re-Signified” (POR 415/LAS 425).

Tuesday, Mar 23, 2021
by Daniel Persia

On Thursday, March 18, 2021, the Brazil LAB hosted “Democracy and Inequalities in Brazil,” a conversation with political science professor Marta Arretche (University of São Paulo) and professor of anthropology Federico Neiburg (Museu Nacional, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro).

Wednesday, Mar 17, 2021
by Daniel Persia

On Thursday, March 11, 2021, the Brazil LAB hosted “Who ordered Marielle’s death? Structural racism in Brazil” (“Quem mandou matar Marielle? Racismo estrutural no Brazil”), a conversation with Brazilian philosopher and activist Djamila Ribeiro.

Thursday, Mar 11, 2021

On March 3, 2021, the Brazil LAB and the Department of Spanish and Portuguese hosted the second of a series of talks, “Pílulas literárias”, in connection with Lilia M. Schwarcz and Pedro Meira Monteiro’s seminar “The Canon Re-Signified" (POR 415/LAS 425). The event was live-streamed for the public on three YouTube channels and has already ...

Thursday, Feb 25, 2021

On February 17, 2021, the Brazil LAB and the Department of Spanish and Portuguese hosted the first of a series of talks, “Pílulas literárias”, in connection with Lilia M. Schwarcz and Pedro Meira Monteiro’s seminar “The Canon Re-Signified (POR 415/LAS 425). The event was live-streamed for the public on the YouTube channels of Lilia Schwarcz,...

Monday, Feb 22, 2021

On Friday, February 12, the Brazil LAB hosted an online discussion with Eduardo G. Neves, Professor of Archaeology at the University of São Paolo, and Tiffany C. Fryer, Cotsen Postdoctoral Fellow at Princeton’s Society of Fellows and Lecturer in the Council of the Humanities and the Department of Anthropology.

Pages